Home > Anime > Anime and Smoking

Anime and Smoking

Just inhale and breath, that’s how to smoke a cigarette right? Let’s just say this post came about, because of personal frustrations.. and wanting to find a cigarette to maybe appear cooler. Can’t because smoking is bad for one’s health and because it is so expensive to light up one these days. The price they make you pay is definitely not a productive way to even begin, or continue.

I smoked for a very short period during college, and that habit was quashed. The guilt you have to pick up a cigarette and light it is enormous.

Society and people certainly doesn’t promote it well, I received so much mixed messages. You see public ads all over the place, denouncing the consequences of smoking. Yet in anime, there is still those few characters that smoke and for me. It appears cool, in spite of the health hazard it creates. Arggh!!

These are anime characters I see smoking and to make this needless rant, purposeful on this blog.

Non pictured characters I imagine, would include Kenji from Neon Genesis Evangelion, Yuko from xxxHolic, Faye and Spike from Cowboy Bebop, Ryo from City Hunter among other characters. I wonder if there’s any other anime character that fits the bill of smoking and looking so cool.

Categories: Anime
  1. saimaisama
    June 18, 2008 at 7:28 pm

    How about Akio’s floating cigarette technique? Now that’s cool. LOL.

  2. June 18, 2008 at 7:54 pm

    Smoking is related to numerous health problems. Giving your character a cigarette is a judgment call. Certainly, it does make it more unique and reflects a part of a personality, but it is not required by any means. You can portray a character in so many different ways that such a health hazard as a cigarette is not necessary.

    Writing, speaking, painting are very powerful media of communication. As a creator, you are responsible for the message you send to your audience. I would never give my characters a cigarette to make them appear cooler.

  3. June 19, 2008 at 1:56 pm

    @saimaisama
    Akio… from which anime?

    @Kitsune
    That is true.. but growing up in my surroundings and with the media I watch, there is mixed messages to smoking and how conceivably that it would appear cool and moody. I wouldn’t give characters a cigarette either, but wouldn’t you get stressed or something?

  4. June 19, 2008 at 7:24 pm

    Get stressed? What do you mean? Please elaborate.

  5. saimaisama
    June 19, 2008 at 8:47 pm

    CLANNAD. Nagisa’s dad. Lately, whenever I picture a character smoking, Akio’s the first [though it was Yuki from Gravi before that]

  6. June 20, 2008 at 5:00 pm

    @Kitsune
    Am naturally a stressful person, so sometimes I think about the attraction of smoking. Kinda contradicting on my part since I tell my co-workers to not smoke.

    @saimasisama
    Roger… Oooh I remember Yuki smoking now.

  7. June 20, 2008 at 6:13 pm

    What attracts you to cigarettes? They are maladaptive coping mechanism.

  8. Hoshi
    June 20, 2008 at 7:21 pm

    does Kumohira-sensei from Nabari smoke? For some reason, I can’t remember. I think he does…

    It does appear cool, yes, but urghh. the health problems!! O___O To be honest, I gave it a try in my first year of college… me and ciggies don’t go well together, although they do give off the taste of raisins sometimes to me. Cigars, i think, are okay for a puff now and then..

  9. June 22, 2008 at 5:01 pm

    @Hoshi
    Never tried cigars and you’re right on the health problems, but the coolness factor is just there. I smoked briefly during my undergrad years.

    @Kitsune
    I know that they are a maladaptive coping mechanism, but it’s just so easy to step into that path. Things in my life occur or happen that makes cigarette smoking attractive..

  10. June 22, 2008 at 5:34 pm

    Yes, it is easy, but you’ll not have to resort to that method if you have better alternatives. Look for better ways to cope with stress and recognize the type of stress you experience. Coping can be divided into two major strategies: problem solving based coping and emotional based coping.

    Let us look at two situations. First is you have an exam and you worry about it, and the second is someone close to you passed away. In the case of the first situation, you are in control. You can go study to prepare for an exam. Studying might not reduce your anxiety completely, but it will definitely help. On the other hand you can’t do anything regarding the second situation. The best way is to seek emotional support from friends and family. The problem arises when people use emotional based coping (e.g. smoking a cigarette) for stressors that should be addressed with problem solving based coping.

    Not all situations can be dichotomized in this way, and sometimes it is best to combine two approaches. Regardless of your tactic, it is important to recognize what type of stressor you are experiencing and what you can do about it. Easier said than done, but we can always try.

  11. June 22, 2008 at 7:09 pm

    @Kitsune
    Aww.. thanks for the encouragement, but as I think abut smoking, it is attractive, but can’t start because of being dead broke most of the time. So expensive to start.. and my thraot noadays is kinda not feeling so good..but I would say that when I look at anime character smoke, it looks pretty cool.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

