Home > Feeds > Sad BL-industry news..

Sad BL-industry news..

Today as I was reading through a back log of blog entries, I decided to hop over to 801-chan blog and I found them mentioning my review that I wrote… mentioned by another person… man was I pretty happy and quite surprised. I know that my favorite yaoi publisher would have to be 801. So this was a nice surprise.

On a sad note… Youka Nitta is quitting her job as a mangaka. I feel kinda sad that she had to quit. I remember listening to what Mina’s opinion is and I am pissed off at copyright fiends for them saying that she plagerized. Sure she traced, but what is art then?

I know for sure Sam doesn’t feel any qualms about copying other people’s work IF that inspires him to create something new in terms of fashion.

Art should not to be held in the same standard as writing, so if the artists makes emphasis on tracing, then so what? I mean people people are vile for plagiarizing written work, but are they determine to make art have a standard? Because as sure as I am not a drawer, I don’t believe that people should have accuse her of plagiarizing. I remember back to when i was taking that drawing class, everyone was encourage to go out and copy other’s people’s art as example.

I leave you with this suitable link… check out the Youtube video at the end.

Also another sad note… Iris Press is closing shop and they’re having a sale… use the coupon “liquidate” to get 50% off of the books they have. I remember seeing them at Otakon last year and to see this happen, makes me kinda sad. I went and purchase one of their items.. Connections.

Categories: Feeds
  1. saimaisama
    July 16, 2008 at 11:14 am

    Youka Nitta-sensei quit …?

    O_O

    Well, this definitely sucks. I loved her manga.-sobs-

  2. July 16, 2008 at 12:51 pm

    Ahh I forgot to put where I found the news.. which is here…

    http://www.animenewsnetwork.com/news/2008-07-16/youka-nitta-to-quit-manga-work-back-catalog-pulled

    Hmm… it sad times for BL. I am more pissed off at the people for making it bad for her, so that she would quit. Copyright is a lucrative affair… one that I believe Japan is following more of in the U.S. example.

  3. July 16, 2008 at 4:52 pm

    Ah, I remember seeing a discussion about Youka Nitta on 4chan’s /y/.

    As someone who does draw using an incredibly large amount of reference pictures, I wonder what the appropriate solution for all of this is. The fact is that my art would suck a whole lot more if I did everything without a reference picture (after all, there’s a reason why models are paid to pose for artists), but well…it is copyrighted. Hm.

  4. July 17, 2008 at 12:47 am

    But what exactly is the worth of copyright? I believe that copyright is an over rated issue.. one people’s ego would be inflated if they got an exclusive right to draw it.. to me this sounds like if you wanted to draw or take a picture of Mona Lisa then you would have to pay the French museum to use the image.

    Also as well.. I see so mmany knockoffs, clones or copies of various movies or books, or even drawings.. it annoys me to see an accomplished and much loved bl artist reduced to this… I never read that much of Youka Nitta’s work, but I hear my friends saying how bad it is..

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

