Home > Features > Long list of favorite Anime OP Count

Long list of favorite Anime OP Count

I decided to reformat this link and wrote some new perspectives on some of them. This is similar to a previous post of favorite anime ED’s this is my list of favorite anime openings. Songs I enjoy on a consistent basics.. The layout will be similar to the anime ending one.. so see what you think?

Utawareumono OP
Concert version
PV version

Truthfully I never finished watching this series, but I remember this was the first anime I actually rushed out and brought the first single for. The music and beat has always gotten to me.

Black Lagoon OP
PV version

The first anime that had me seeing someone literally stick their middle finger up, have three “f” curses and then the enemy gets blown out of the sky..all in the same scene and in the first episode. Levi’s character blew me away and I started to admire her personality. I am so excited for this series to have a third season come out this fall..

Full Metal Panic – Tomorrow
Concert Version

This was the first anime I fell in love with while I was in college. I had reached the point where I was wondering what other anime titles were there, when I discovered this series. I love how the song pans out the people saluting. The second version of this opening I scoffed at, because it didn’t give me the same majestic impression like this one did.

Full Metal Panic – South Wind
Duet with Hironbu Kageyama (singer of DBZ OP)

Well this cemented Mikuni Shinokawa’s place in my heart for being a wonderful singer. I remember when I first heard this song and afterwards when I spent weeks upon weeks searching for a rip.. that I suffered cravings to listen to this song. This is a song that I eventually went out and purchased the single for afterwards. I actually like this song a teeny bit more than the first season’s opening, but it is because of the re-freshness in listening to the song.

Kaleido Star Opening
Kaleido Star 2nd Opening

I wonder about being able to like two theme so much, that they were part of the same anime series. At this time I was on a Cirque du Soleil kick, so watching the anime was something I enjoyed immensely. I enjoyed the optimistic and upbeat of the songs.

La Corda D’Oro OP
Concert version sang by Kanon

I watched this anime a bit earlier than Nodame, but I love classical instruments theme, so I enjoyed this series.

Nightwalker OP

Buck-Tick what can I say.. the obvious attraction was the song and the vampire.

Trinity Blood OP
PV version

Similar to Nightwalker, I nearly fainted when I heard how good the song was. The guitar, the voice, the lyrics.. at this time I was wondering why does the song have to be so male and use the word, “Boku…” well I am a girl.. so you can’t exactly go singing the song around Japanese people and not have them look at you weirdly. I so love Buck-Tick for this song..! In the PV, he looks so much like a female.. that I was wondering.. how can a man be so pretty. Similar feelings to when I saw TMR.

One Piece: Brand New World

One Piece: Bon Voyage

One Piece: Kokoro no Chizu

Kokoro no Chizu PV

One Piece: Believe

One Piece… the anime.. the words… the art… Nakame unite!!!!! God too many openings I adored in this series. There are various reasons why I love each opening not counting vocals. Vocals are excellant. I loved Brand New World for its animation of artbook graphics. Bon Voyage for its uncanny resemblance to being an updated Memories (from the ED) and the various childhood flashbacks. Kokoro no Chizu for the graphics of the crew falling, the sleeping sequence toward the end, and that image of Sanji cartwheeling was really stupendous. Believe was the first time I realized that I had fallen in love with this story, they started to have those optimistic sayings in the beginning, which cheered me up a lot. I was by myself at college during that time. Also this opening signified being introduced to Chopper in the anime sequence. Many reasons why these opening stood out in my mind. Currently there are around nine openings.. but I had my favorites..

Paranoia Agent OP

What a strange anime… I didn’t really get the anime at all, but the opening was quite haunting. I love Satoshi Kon’s other movies though, so this was a pretty interesting hope to see animated..

Sailor Stars OP

Truthfully, I never liked this season of Sailor Moon, because it felt too fast paced and the way they brought back Nehelenia. My favorite season would always be Sailor Moon S, but I found the opening for Sailor Moon repetitive from seasons 1-4. This was a refreshing change.

Vampire Princess Miyu

No vocals, just the narrator doing her speech, but what a series, very romanticized.

Lunar Legend Tsukihime

No vocals, but the music is phenomenal. Just absolutely gorgeous. The strings, the vocals, the art.. wow.. oh and notice the trend in vampire anime related…

Serial Experiment Lain OP

Another high school anime I watched. It was a pretty depressing series and this was before Matrix ever was filmed, so you can imagine my surprise when I watched said movie. This anime was of a girl putting herself into the computer and not the other way around. This is a science-fiction anime that Denno Coil is reminding me of this anime when I see it. Well it’s similarities are few, but the sci-fic gnere had me thinking.

Neon Genesis Evangelion

Cruel Angel’s Thesis, man what a ride through the entire series. How can I describe why I like this opening. Opening for something I truly felt something akin to when I was at my darkest when I was in High school.

Ranma 1/2 – 3rd OP

I always thought from this series, that this song was relatively peaceful sounding and had a melody that was memorable. Looking at the opening again, made me think of stuff I felt when I watched this series.

Sakura Taisen

I loved this opening when several years ago..

Categories: Features Tags:
  1. June 8, 2008 at 10:36 pm

    The OP from the list that I’ve seen is Black Lagoon OP. I agree that it’s cool and the graphic is rather nice. However, it didn’t start off well as I didn’t like the much electronics and techno music without much music at the start. >.>

    Oh Blood+ has some cool OPs too.

  2. June 9, 2008 at 12:23 am

    @ Hynavian… Response to comments about Black Lagoon, the opening grew on me and once I figure out the lyrics… I was pretty psyched. Still I have always had a thing for music with a good strong beat. Ahh.. shoot.. I forgot about Blood+…. I like the first opening: Aozora no Namida by Hitomi Takahashi a lot. I have the best cd soundtrack for the anime series and I remmeber just listening to the song on repeat for a very long time. ^_^

  3. Hoshi
    June 10, 2008 at 11:21 pm

    Ah, you have a lot of OPs up there that I like too. Utawarerumono, Full Metal Panic, Black Lagoon, One Piece… how about Current series?

    Oh my god, the Blood+ OPs ROCK. I love the fourth opening especially, and i have to say even the EDs in that series rock too.

  4. June 11, 2008 at 8:27 am

    @ Hoshi

    Hmm.. current series.. I guess the Soul Eater opening by TMR. I am trying to catch up with the anime for this season and a lot has fallen out of the way.. >_<

  5. luna7
    June 16, 2010 at 1:04 pm

    god! to think that i was listening to your pathetic songs.yo they suck, like really.

  6. luna7
    June 16, 2010 at 1:05 pm

    and your choice of Anime, i Hate truly!

  7. miz
    June 17, 2010 at 8:40 am

    @luna7 I see that you have written quite negatively on this old post of mine, but I do wonder what songs you didn’t like or not? Any other thoughts? I didn’t sing these songs, rather they were my choices of what favorite Japanese animation openings I had.

  1. June 8, 2008 at 5:51 pm

Leave a Reply

