Home > Books > Ah My Goddess 20th Anniversary Artbook = Love!

Ah My Goddess 20th Anniversary Artbook = Love!

Yesterday on my weekly book stop hopping, let’s say I just broke a portion of my piggy bank with the things I got from Bookoff, Kinokuniya, and Asahiya. Have to say that I thought of the things as pretty worth it though. One thing I got from Asahiya, other than Ghibli no Uta was the 藤島康介画集―「ああっ女神さまっ」1988-2008 and this is Kōsuke Fujishima’s 20th anniversary release of an Ah My Goddess Artbook and let me say the pictures are stunning.

The book has seven chapters of goodies. Many old pictures and some pictures I have never seen before:

Chapter 1- In Goddess We Trust
Chapter 2- Goddesses in Spectrum
Chapter 3-Cover Arts for “Afternoon”
Chapter 4-Various Memories
Chapter 5 -Artworks From the Trade Paperback Edition
Chapter 6-Editor’s Choice of favorite scenes from the Manga
Chapter 7-Kosuke Fujishima Long Interview

Toward the beginning of the art book book, there are several pages of special drawings of Belldandy, Urd and Skuld.

I have a fondness for collecting artbooks, and let’s just say that this book does not disappoint me one bit at all. There is also one page of stickers that denote the 20th anniversary year of Ah My Goddess. I doubt this will ever see a domestic release in terms of the U.S. public, but what the heck… the book is going for 3,200 yen and the ISBN is here 9784063647518.

I took several pictures of my favorite images from the book itself and placed it as a slideshow.

Categories: Books
  1. January 3, 2009 at 4:48 pm

    Oh wow! This is great! I love Ah My Goddess and should find this book! Thank you for mentioning it 🙂

  2. miz
    January 3, 2009 at 4:51 pm

    Let’s just say I grabbed and ran with the only copy I saw at the bookstore yesterday..

  3. jarmel
    January 9, 2009 at 10:10 am

    Do you have any idea where to get this anywhere in the US? I tried hunting it down online to no success, the only place I found was Amazon Japan.

  4. miz
    January 9, 2009 at 2:13 pm

    Now the question is.. how do you usually order Japanese import books? If you were in the New York City region, it should be easy with the three Japanese bookstores and the surround area’s… another is to contact the bookstore itself and ask them to send the book to you. Another is wait until conventions… I recall seeing Kinokudyia at the conventions I went to like in Otakon, so I am very sure they mail books elsewhere as well. Another is to also make a friend who would visit NYC, and rely them to be courier. Does any of these solutions help out? You can also refer to this blog for strategies… http://www.justhungry.com/comparison-shopping-ordering-japanese-books-and-media-online

    Good luck on your search.

  5. June 14, 2010 at 5:59 am

    You have done it once again. Great read.

  6. miz
    June 17, 2010 at 8:41 am

    Thank you Madeleine.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment