Home > Books > Black Lagoon’s Barrage Artbook = Violent Love!

Black Lagoon’s Barrage Artbook = Violent Love!

[Edit April 27, 2012] Originally posted on January 6, 2009.. I looked back to tag this for an updated entry. I discovered that slide.com which housed images I liked was gone, so here is an updated entry.

I have no idea why I am suddenly using those = titles, but I figure it seems interesting to do that for a while. Makes my post entry pop out more… anyway I just got to say that I love Black Lagoon.. there’s so many violent gun fights… and so many cool women in the story itself. Each with their own idea of dark justice, honor or lack of it. I got the art book last year, and never really spoke about it.. but because I rushed after work, with a 40% off coupon and snagged the third volume of the Viz manga release off the shelf, I felt inspired to showcase this gem.

I only took my favorite pictures from the artbook, and for potential buyers… there’s not that much of Black Lagoon pictures, but from what I can see – it is smoking hot! The rest of the art book actually covers other art work illustrated by Rei Hiroe, including images of Fate/stay night and several short mangas.

Irregardless of most of the guys anf guy friends that are out there that are fans of this series, I believe that I am not the only female out there that believes that Levi is one cool gal…. I actually also took a cosplayer picture of someone as Levi before.

If I were to put up a feature of my top 10 Anime females, she is sure to make the list along with Balalaika, I mean just in Vol 3, you get to see the actions of Shen Hua in drawing action.. that’s enough to make me sigh. Here’s a slide show with some of my favorite images, and excuse my camera, that is getting on it’s years – should be replaced really…

(Originally slide show was placed here)

Oh and I am really not sure if Barrage will get a domestic release, but who knows – with every Viz release for the three volumes of the English language, on the bio of each one, they mentioned Barrage. If Black Lagoon proves to be popular in the United States, then who knows if there is not going to be an American distribution like Card Captor Sakura, Ranma 1/2, One Piece, Naruto or Hana Kimi art books? For the Japanese release though and ordering it… the ISBN number is 9784091998903 and it goes for about 2,000 yen.

Oh and because of the book series being rated as M and with the warnings of Explicit content label, so far the copies I have gotten from the few times I go to Borders is all shrink wrapped and I so love that, because it would be safely away from the prying greasy hands of the phrase MAL’s as Gar Gar recently labeled them as…

As a shopper of books, my motto is if I purchase any book, any damage to the book is only of my own doing and in my own presence.. so there.. that was an out of side comment/rant.

Categories: Books
  1. January 6, 2009 at 9:25 am

    I have not seen Black Lagoon, but, based on the excerpts, it seems too violent for my taste.

    As for the artbook, the shading of the drawings is interesting.

  2. miz
    January 6, 2009 at 9:38 am

    Black Lagoon is a very violent anime, so it’s not for everyone..kinda like how Baoh I imagine

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Baoh

    There was a lot of darker shading used in the book itself, so it made the drawings interesting, in a sexy way.

  1. April 27, 2012 at 4:44 pm

Leave a Reply

