Home > Other > Aspects of Japanese Culture… Top 5 broad likings.

Aspects of Japanese Culture… Top 5 broad likings.

japan_by_geson

This topic has been on my mind ever since a class mate asked me what do I like about Japanese culture. I responded to her of liking everything that Japan has to offer… but then, there are so many faucets – so what then? I spoke about this with a co-worker and I was able to write up a ranking list…..

  1. Food
  2. Anime
  3. Music
  4. Dramas
  5. Manga

Now these are pretty broad categories, and I guess I can try to squash in Video games somewhere, or idols or the Theater things, or fashion… but I kinda always think of these categories when I think of Japan. I guess, if you asked me several years ago, I would have ranked anime and manga much higher, but currently that ranking has changed.

i__heart__japan_stamp_by_sakurastars

Now then, as a fan for things Japanese – what would be your top five things that you like about Japan and reasons why?

Categories: Other
  1. tai
    January 10, 2009 at 1:17 am

    i don’t know about top 5, but on my list otaku culture > food.

    And you can’t forget technology. Mobile electronics and Automated Underground Bicycle Parking FTW

  2. January 10, 2009 at 8:22 am

    Oh, I really like that picture πŸ™‚ It is even signed. Do you know who signed it?

    What Japanese food you like?

    I’ll give you eight because it is a good number πŸ˜› This is my list in alphabetical order ( not providing reasons because it would take an essay to explain everything πŸ˜› ):

    Art
    Animation
    Film
    History
    Language
    Literature
    Theater (Noh, Kabuki)
    Traditional Music

  3. miz
    January 10, 2009 at 5:25 pm

    @Tai – Technology is a neat thing to definitely love about Japanese culture, but how many times can you stand to see your account empty out because of the latest gadget, to then have an upgrade and/or price droppage to come out six months later – case in points the play station games – $50 when it comes out 6m months to a year later – price gets knocked down to $20 as a greatest hit. That is video games though, but if you look at it from gadgets.. have to say cameras and laptops are a top bleeder.

    @Kitsune – I found this picture from devient art. The artit’s name is geson – here’s her devientart page http://geson.deviantart.com/

    There so much Japanese food to love, the snacks, deserts, ingredients – and very much like you my reasons for loving the topic is essay like indeed. One thing I do like is the simpleness to cook the food, the Japanese attitude on aesthetics. Also the way that I would always pay closer attention to a drama or anime, if there is the mention of food. I love watching cooking theme shows. Just can’t cook though. Is that enough for the moment to talk about why I chose food over anime?

    Also that is a very good list you have there. I like portions of the traditional music as well.

  4. January 11, 2009 at 11:17 am

    Oh, I see. That artist is good πŸ™‚

    Iron Chef: simple, fast, and aesthetic πŸ˜› Thank you for sharing some of your reasons for liking food πŸ™‚

    I like cooking because it allows me to ensure that the food is in the best condition for my taste πŸ™‚ Usually, I cook very simple meals and bake bread. The cooking process itself is fun too and can be very relaxing πŸ™‚

    Oh, you have to check out this cute cooking πŸ˜›

  5. miz
    January 11, 2009 at 1:59 pm

    @Kitsune
    Glad you liked the artist, I would love to support fan artist if I can. Because they can draw a way lot better than I do.

    The original Iron Chef.. not that version that they show now on the food network with Iron Chef America. >_<

    Well I am often too scared of burning things. Or making food that no one would want to eat. But often I am sous chef for my mom if we make Dango soup and I cook rice.

  6. January 11, 2009 at 2:11 pm

    Oh yes, the original Iron Chef – the new one does not fit my taste.

    Well, things only burn when you go to write something for your blog, leaving the cooking in the kitchen and forgetting about the thing πŸ˜› Food has almost zero chance of burning if you are actually there.

    Asking your prospective audience what they prefer can help in satisfying them. Also, even if you cooked what they like and they didn’t like it for some reason, that does not mean anything. That does not mean that you are a bad person – it is just that the cooking might have not gone well that day or, perhaps, people were too finicky πŸ˜› Cooking is a fun activity that people should not be afraid of πŸ™‚

  7. miz
    January 11, 2009 at 4:09 pm

    @Kitsune, Thanks for the encouragements!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

