Home > Other > Collection Aspects – Japanese Anime fan essentials….

Collection Aspects – Japanese Anime fan essentials….

As an anime fan, one of the things I always try to make sure I have, and know about is how usually money is usually spent on anime. It is an expensive hobby, and one that is aptly pointed out by Moyism after he mentioned going over the $10,000 on this hobby. I usually ignore how much I spend… since I figure I can make it up at a later time. Sounds irresponsible ne? But who truly cares, if one doesn’t know what is going to happen tomorrow? I try not to let my worries crush me.

Now with my pending Japan trip.. I figure I can try and get a good idea on what I want to zero in to go on the rampage for.. probably a lot of things.. still there are some things I would always be on the look out for..that is series that I like of some form.

  • Books
  • Pencil Boards
  • Stationary
  • Jigsaw Puzzles
  • CD’s
  • DVD’s
  • Specific series’s plushies
  • Specific Figurines
  • Specific Cell Phone Charms

These are are pretty much, what an anime fan would probably go for, but just trying to establish some boundaries… my friend is in Japan now, so I have been giving her some list of things I would like for her to look out for.. the wait is kinda long until May, but let’s just say time should relatively go by fast…. weather in NYC sucks so much now though..can’t wait for warmer weather though.

Categories: Other
  1. January 10, 2009 at 8:28 am

    Oh wow, what a list! You are a true anime fan 🙂

    I don’t have many anime related paraphernalia. I like artbooks the most 🙂

  2. miz
    January 10, 2009 at 5:11 pm

    I thought it was norm to try and collect one thing specifically. I wish I can be like other bloggers that collect magazines, or poster, but I find them pretty not lasting in my home. Hmm those are paraphernalia I have purchased over the year.. and given that a lot of them are so expensive.. you see only imagine how much I spend and then lose… artbooks are really neat because they feature the best of the best or a selection from that specific artist’s works. My favorite items to collect though are pencil boards and jigsaw puzzles though, with artbook as a third selection. I use to collect trading cards and playing cards, but that was a very long time ago.

  3. January 11, 2009 at 11:10 am

    Well, as long as you don’t spend too much on those goods, you should not feel guilty about them because it is nice to give yourself some presents sometimes 🙂

    I was not familiar with pencil boards, but I checked some of them out, and see why they are your favorite item 🙂

  4. miz
    January 11, 2009 at 2:06 pm

    @Kitsune: Well I don’t feel guilty about buying them for the most hand, but to see okane dropping in my bank account.. that is just depressing.

    Pencil boards make great gifts.. cheap and affordable. More lasting, easy things for seiyuu’s to sign and better than collecting cards.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

