Home > Anime Girls > [Anime Girls] Arale Norimaki

[Anime Girls] Arale Norimaki

arale-collage

Arale-chan is a classic anime character from the 1980’s. If you don’t know what her face looks like, at least you can see her face as my normal icon, via my wordpress responses or Twitter.

arale-heheHer personality is typical naive girl with super human strength. I love her a lot for her enthusiasm for life, and just because she’s a robot – she certainly doesn’t let it get in her way of fun. No one in the village knows that she is a robot, after her creator/brother Senbei passes her off as his sister. Even after Obotchaman mentions that they are robot, doesn’t make things change.

Back when I was a child, I had aspired to be like Arale, and so that aspiration carried into my personality. But I believe that one should be more mature in real life, and especially at my job; so I try not to act that way unless I am around my friends.

Arale’s interactions with the Penguin Village, makes me laugh every time. An example is of Arale’s interaction with the Penguin Village Police department, they always try to run away from her. This is normally because of two reasons: one is where she tries to be a good citizen and return things, and another is her way of saying hello. Every single time though, because of her super human strength, she ends up wrecking the police car every single time, as she crashes into them.

I also find her relationship with Obotchaman truly cute and endearing.  Probably because Senbei forgot to put the emotions in her, she doesn’t really have an emotional capability’s of loving Obotchaman, the say way he gets so nervous over her. Arale though, definitely prizes him as a friend who is able to match her skill, set for set, and has no idea that she is the romantic interest of her friend.

There are several phrases, I have always found a refreshing compilation from her… such as “Kiiii…” her sound when she runs and “N’cha” her way of saying “Hi, how are you doing?” This leads to my hearing of her attack phrases of “N’cha beam” and such. I am not into video games as some of my friends are, but he did show me the appearance of Arale on a recent DBZ PS2 game, so that is quite amazing.

Arale is a character designed by Akira Toriyama back in the 1980’s, and I have always found all theluca other characters that Toriyama-sensei had created after her. With wearing glasses ie: Lucca from Chrono Trigger to look like Arale.

I wrote a blog entry about the Arale and Dr. Slump as one of my earlier blog entries, so here’s a link for that. I guess this entry can be considered an update or an affirmation for my love for Arale.

Last summer I was able to get from my friend when she went to Japan, the first 120 Japanese episodes on DVD of Dr. Slump. To my knowledge there are about four dvd sets of the series, that make up the 300+TV series episodes and the 12 movies. There are right now about four box sets of the anime series, I have in my possession several things that would  deal with the collection at the moment. One is the Shonen Jump American release of Dr. Slump‘s 18 volume manga set. There are 17 out now, and so I am on my way to collect the entire manga series. Another is an Arale-chan style cap, which got comments from several people, including someone who actually took a picture of me wearing it. Another is a T-shirt I got from Otakon. Not sure where it is at the moment, but truly happy that I got it. Several others is of my plushies – one pink poop on a stick, and another of Gatchan.

I certainly love Arale, and while she is considered to be a classic character from the 80’s to me, she is always refreshing and new as the day I first saw her.

arale3.jpg

Categories: Anime Girls Tags:
  1. January 17, 2009 at 5:20 pm

    I am not familiar with this character, but it was nice to hear the story behind your avatar 🙂

  2. miz
    January 18, 2009 at 12:26 am

    Hmm.. well Arale is like Nausicaa.. they’re characters from the 80’s and if you follow much of Akira Toriyama’s works.. Arale was a character he created before Dragon Ball…. it seems weird to even talk about her a lot.. since the U.S. doesn’t know her of her as much.. but I love her just the same.. the manga which is she is a main character of is pretty much a gag style.. but it’s really fun, all the same pretty immature..

  1. May 6, 2012 at 1:27 pm

Leave a Reply

