Home > Personal > Signature – Bling or fact?

Signature – Bling or fact?

signatures1

Okay, as I quickly ran into the constraints of real life… and too many things to do… one idea that I am consistently thinking about is signature or tags – I am sure people would know what I am talking about. On forums or emails, they are the poster’s id tag at the ending.

In terms of emails, I have a professional and an anime relevant one. With the personal email, I put up my user handle, and url for this blog. In terms of professional email, I have my real name and some networking sites I am associated with.

On forums, that I infrequently participate with, I have I have photo shop-ed some image, and used that. But if you were not really design oriented – what would be your solution? Also what kind of information would you put, and would you create a quote, banner or image for it?

Categories: Personal
  1. January 15, 2009 at 8:56 pm

    If I were not design oriented, I would use catchy words as my signature. Sometimes, simplicity is the best. If I post frequently and regularly, those catchy words would have caught the attention of the forum users.

    I usually use crop images snap-shot directly from anime, border them, and add my nick name (e.g. Hynavian) to the banner to prevent others from stealing it. The cropped banner will be accompanied by a short quote either before or after the banner.

  2. January 17, 2009 at 5:26 pm

    I shamelessly use my forum signature as links to the anime I am blogging about 🙂

    As Hynavian pointed out, some quote or your personal motto works well.

  3. miz
    January 18, 2009 at 1:57 am

    @Hynavian Thank you for you suggestion..and yep.. still trying to find that catchy phrase is, well hard, so I see lots of people use banners… it’s just cool to see other people create these fabulous banners..

    @Kitsune Thanks also for your comment… ahh I never thought of it that way.. signature to promote a love for a specific anime series… hmm…. well personal motto is all right and all, but should the person get the phrase? I use to use a phrase from Terry Pratchett, but not sure if people got that.. so I stopped using it..

  4. January 18, 2009 at 10:33 am

    Terry Pratchett is a great writer 🙂 The question is do you want a quote that many people will identify with and will be familiar with or do you want a quote that is relatively personal and very few people will recognize? Keep in mind that those who will recognize a more obscure, but personal quote, are likely to have other similar interests and tastes as you do 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

