Home > Personal > Just a frustrating day..

Just a frustrating day..

sanji1

It certainly is not as bad as how Sanji felt… but I sure feel the same away. One issue…. Sure I finished one masters, but the need to get another masters is weighing heavily on me at the moment. Taking a semester off is quite overrated, and I just find myself missing the normalcy of attending classes. I just found out that the college I want to go to for my second masters, requires the GRE from every applicant. I kinda feel sick to my stomach.

I was very grateful that my first master’s college didn’t need the GRE, but now this college does and yep, a punch to the stomach. Well if it means to get that second masters, well to take the GRE it is..

Just another stressful time listening to my mom compare the  accomplishments and intelligence of a guy I knew.. who gives a *beep* as to his accomplishments, and how his job is paying for his second degree.. if being a part time adjunct librarian means that having a pay scale lower than my childhood acquaintances. I understand, but it is my personal choice, and not every one cen get as lucky….!

So if I have to put more of my own money to even getting that degree, well then it is the timing, location… and my not being able to find that job.

Categories: Personal
  1. February 23, 2009 at 3:11 pm

    Comparing you to other people is not nice of your mother. Your career is your choice, and as long as it makes you happy, the monetary awards don’t matter. As for paying for education, only few jobs do that – that person was just lucky.

    Oh yes, I am in a similar situation: GRE is evil and quite frustrating! They changed it recently – you have to enter numbers now >.> Verbal section is a killer for non-native speakers also T_T However, I am sure you can do it! 😀

  2. miz
    February 23, 2009 at 6:55 pm

    It is something my mom has done for years.. comparing that is. I chose my career out of a need to be near books. Yep.. so GRE is evil….. I am actually worried about the math section.. never something i actually liked. Good luck on your own GRE test taking..!

  3. February 23, 2009 at 10:22 pm

    Too bad that your mother is like that… Perhaps, you should tell her that she should stop doing that.

    GRE math is not too bad because after working through some examples, you can see the types of problems they ask – most of them are not too difficult. The verbal section takes much longer to improve though. I use Mnemozyne I mentioned to you before to study words, and I also use Free Rice 🙂

  4. miz
    February 24, 2009 at 7:13 pm

    I worry about having the time to prep now… thanks for the suggestions Kitsune!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

