Home > Responses > Crunchy Roll.. please…. no thank you…

Crunchy Roll.. please…. no thank you…

Guess what I got in my mail box today… an offer for two weeks membership free of Crunchy Roll streaming anime..

This is how the email was worded out.. I was so surprised, that I had to take a cap.

crunchyroll

I deleted the email after that cap.

I am right now mentally rolling my eyes.. Notice.. I am not a fan of streaming video.. and if I usually watch streaming sites.. because one.. the video is short is short enough for me to not care about the buffer time.. like youtube… and two because usually the drama or anime I watch on streaming is not available as a direct download.. now why the hell would I want to sign up with Crunchyroll? A site that has anime series, that I don’t really care for.. ie. Naruto Shippuden… nah.. no thank you.

I was reading some anime blogs like Omo’s or Shizuka, and some other anime blogs on my feed… and so far it has been a skeptical cool reception on my part. I actually liked Shizuka’s apt description of selling their soul to the devil to have to sign up with CR>

But I have to say this, if you are already a fan of streaming anime before CR happened, then enjoy.. but not everyone can accept streaming sites. I can only watch streaming media before I develop a crick near my eye.

Notice.. there’s also plenty of other streaming sites out there like Joost, or Naruto.com etc. But no streaming is not for me..

Categories: Responses
  1. March 8, 2009 at 2:55 pm

    Selling soul to the devil, heh. Well, I have not signed up and have no plans to do it.

  2. 静か
    March 19, 2009 at 10:42 pm

    That’s actually my fansubbing blog; all my interesting stuff is on my wordpress blog.

    The TOS I talked about, having to sell “your soul to the devil”, actually only apply if you want to translate things for them. But a quick check of Crunchyroll’s terms of service for everything else, and you will discover a peculiarly similar “terms of service” for the use of their website: everything you do can be monitored, and anything you upload/do/say on there can be used however they wish. At least they don’t make you waive your moral rights.

    Relevant section:
    b) User Submissions. You retain all rights in your User Submissions. However, by uploading, posting, submitting or otherwise transmitting any User Submissions on or to the Site or Services, you hereby grant to Crunchyroll a non-exclusive, worldwide, royalty-free, sublicensable, perpetual and irrevocable right and license to use, reproduce, modify, distribute, prepare derivative works of, display, publish, perform and transmit your User Submissions in connection with the Services and Crunchyroll’s (and its successors) business including, without limitation, for promotion and redistributing part or all of the Services (and derivative works thereof), in any media formats and through any media channels. You represent and warrant that you own or have the necessary licenses, rights, consents and permissions to grant the foregoing licenses to Crunchyroll.

    Also, note that if you pay them, they can terminate you for whatever reason, without refund. “Crunchyroll has adopted and implemented a policy that provides for the termination in appropriate circumstances of the accounts of users who repeatedly infringe or are believed to be or are charged with repeatedly infringing the rights of copyright holders.”

    So if they suspect you of violating copyright, they can terminate a paying account, and you have no recourse for their decision.

    And get this: if you make a forum post, and they terminate your account, you’re not allowed to ever see the forum post again.
    “UPON ANY TERMINATION OR SUSPENSION, ANY CONTENT, MATERIALS OR INFORMATION (INCLUDING USER SUBMISSIONS OR TRANSLATED CONTENT) THAT YOU HAVE SUBMITTED ON THE SITE OR THAT WHICH IS RELATED TO YOUR ACCOUNT MAY NO LONGER BE ACCESSED BY YOU.”

    So my blog post was about the subtitling TOS. Is the site TOS any better? I think not… It’s like selling your soul to the devil, except, well, you’re not going to get richer 😉

  3. miz
    March 20, 2009 at 1:21 am

    @Kitsune Well I will never touch anything of CR, so let’s just say as the last two day of news of what they are licensing are undoubtedly irking, as they do take up space on my feed reader. As a fan I do believe you have a choice of using what type of service there is.

    @Shizuka Ah I see that you’ve seen my blog post. Well your twitter links to your fansubbing blog, so I am quite unsure of your wordpress blog… and ack.. it really is kinda scary about the TOS for either licensing or using CR, it only shows an economic interest that a company has, and while there is an interest to see actual statistics of people using CR – it is going to be at the blog of another person writing out against CR that would spark my interest. I am actually pretty happy that people are getting some anime, but I don’t like the legalities that CR is embroiling their users in, that reminds me greatly of Facebook, which I am also getting quite leery of.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

