Home > Responses > Some thoughts on Brad Rice’s posts on Danny Choo as guest editor. Warning on random thoughts…

Some thoughts on Brad Rice’s posts on Danny Choo as guest editor. Warning on random thoughts…

surfing_the_web_by_sent2ufromheaven

Okay one of the things I do online is to go and read of other blogs, and I noticed this as an interesting point, with the self-defined Otaku Danny Choo’s site is something I occasionally like to go to, and to see that Brad Rice was the guest editor for a week, that was kinda interesting.. and wanted to share some random thoughts.I kinda lurked there, more so than on Japanator, since commeting is something that I am working on.

Last year when I went to the New York Anime Festival, I attended this panel regarding about Anime and Manga Journalism, and I saw Brad Rice there, I thought he said the same thing he spoke about when he wrote about blogging, and what makes a good writer. Trying to have a voice, now that is kinda difficult. I myself had have that issue, but then I see that other bloggers talk about issues on writing.

Then another aspect that he wrote about in this entry. In regards to Hollywood bringing over any anime to film, Death Note should have a good chance, given its already live action treatment with its three Japanese movies already.. and if what he said about Sunrise being really strict with Cowboy Bebop, they better. That is another live action treatment I really have high hopes for unlike the treatment for Full Metal Panic.

His experiences on speaking Japanese here and here, is kinda of like reading this blog for me. I am going to probably have some more regrets about learning Japanese as what Koji Oe said. I am quite worried at the moment, given that my trip to Japan is fast approaching. If I can make it without my mom nagging me to pack, then all is good at the moment. Still I realized that as the time comes, I will have to take Japan as it comes. I probably won’t be that prepared to go, but since I did that leap – rather have the travel experiences to make it more handy for my will on learning Japanese, which I am sad to say that among many of my female friends like Aya, 801megane, Silent Death, Hinano, my attempts is actually not the best. A lot of things intimidate me, and learning Japanese formally is one of the top ones. Life goal is for me to actually be able to read a Japanese manga without being too old and feeble.

Haruki Murakami’s The Wind-up Bird Chronicle is also on my giantic mental list of book to read. I know it is somewhere in my apartment, but if I can find a space to display all my books, then I wouldn’t have to have live in this cramped NYC apt for years now do I?  I call this apartment a black hole, where I lose everything I buy into it. If I can find AJ Jacobs book before Book Expo, then I don’t need to go buy an extra copy then!

Exercise – something that is greatly needed in a lot of people’s lives. Now if there was more reason to get off your ass to walk – then the power be with you. Of course it is easier for a lot of people to write excuses, like self  than head out. I kinda wish that I didn’t chicken like I did last summer at Governor’s Island, with the option to bike. I still do wonder if there is a better option for leanring how to bike, without a need for training wheels. >_<

Categories: Responses
  1. Kairu Ishimaru
    April 14, 2009 at 9:51 pm

    Its really fun to bloghop eh? You will learn such great and new things around the blogosphere.
    Oh, you have some nice OP picture there. 😀

  2. miz
    April 15, 2009 at 12:04 am

    It sure is easier to bloghop than write about entries. There is a great deal of knowledge and information out there. Thanks the pictures are courtesy of devient art.. ^_^

  3. April 15, 2009 at 6:44 am

    Good luck in Japan. It is a hell of a place. I ended up hating it or rather the education system and the school I was at. Everything else was pretty awesome. I learned a lot about other places in the world, but I can’t say I learned a whole lot about Japan though. It’s society and people are so old fashioned and fake. They really need to catch up to 2009. Men can and should cook for themselves, women can work in the work place, and foreigners can speak your damn language so stop looking so shocked. Just the tip of the ice burg of things that pissed me off.

  4. miz
    April 16, 2009 at 12:37 am

    Thanks! That is probably the case with a lot of other countries. When I was in London, I was under the impression that the bartender thought that my friend and I liked Western cowboy things. There are stereotypes, and that is perhaps why a lot of people move in and out of a place. I am going to be a temporary visitor.. so que sera sera… (^ ^)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

