Home > Television > Impressions of Arifureta Kiseki

Impressions of Arifureta Kiseki

Translated in English as Unsurprising Miracle. Arifureta Kiseki is a slice of life family Winter 2009 Dorama. Of all of the doramas that I watched during the Winter, I focused on this series much more than Love Shuffle which I marathon through or Triangle that I gave up after three episodes.  I certainly didn’t expect to like this dorama the way I did.

arifureta-kiseki-banner

But I did, and I am impressed of this dorama. This is a dorama of message and hope. The story begins with two people saving a third person. Then these two people met again, and a romantic relationship occurs, one that is pretty mature and cautious. Kana and Shota are the only child of two three generation families. Conflict occrrs as it comes out that Kana cannot have children, so it brought to my mind, the declining birthrate in Japan, where the old outnumbers the young. While both their family tries to cope, it was a time of watching the melding of two familes.

arifureta-8

Their grandparents, and parents make wonderful supporting characters. My favorite parts were the different interactions between the two family. From the war surviving grandparents, and Shota’s grandfather did get long winded as always. It was an interesting mix to see the lives of the parent. Kana’s parents do have a loveless and companion marriage as did Shota’s divorced parents. It was startling to see the father’s cross dress.

arifureta-9

Still Nakama Yukie is not among my top favorite actress to watch, but she was good in this drama. I liked Kase Ryo’s acting slightly more. The last time I saw him, or heard his voice was with Sky Crawlers. So seeing him act certain placed a face with the voice.

This is a dorama that also used Enya’s music from her last Christmas album, Dreams Are More Precious. So prior to Winter Dorama season, I was looking forward to listening to this song. There use to be a nice video on Youtube several months back debuting Enya singing the song. But it must have got taken down.

While there are some parts that would probably bore people, definitely check this dorama out that is probably targeted for the older crowd. If you want to see a ordinary dorama that is filled with character development and ordinary realizations. Boss is airing in the same slot as this dorama, so that is definitely on my list of Spring 2009 dorama to watch.

Categories: Television
  1. April 22, 2009 at 12:12 am

    NEVAR USE DORAMA, U’LL MAKE MY FUTURE BABIES CRY D; I just can’t stand it as Ryuuji didn’t pair up with Ami :[

    One thing which kind of made me laugh was that the guy’s name was “Shota”.

    I won’t watch this but I do like spoilers; what happened to Shota and Kana in the end if Kana wasn’t able to… marry?

  2. miz
    April 22, 2009 at 11:13 pm

    Well dorama appeal to other fans of Japanese culture, and while I am an anime fan… Ryuuji and Ami from Sailor Moon?

    I like the process of doramas.. hence my other posts on exceptions for Spring 09 doramas. Jdoramas are way shorter than other dramas in the region, and definitely better than the American dramas.

    As for spoilers, this dorama ended up like a lot of other doramas. The family all approved of the match, and it was only Shota’s grandfather that went against the match. In the end the couple stayed together, and everyone went on their own way.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

