Home > Feeds > Tea being passed off as New York Tea in Japan…would that work?

Tea being passed off as New York Tea in Japan…would that work?

After a period of checking through my Google reader… found this blurb of information via Japan Probe, but the gist is this, Ito En is marketing Tea’s Tea as an exotic New York drink. I buy enough of their drinks from Kino or from Zaiya, but talk about globalization marketing. Wonder if the scheme works?

Here’s a youtube video.

Categories: Feeds
  1. September 2, 2009 at 6:48 pm

    Well, I’ve no idea if it’s really authentic New-York-flavour or not, but I’ve bought that tea a few times. It’s not bad as far as sweet teas go – the taste is a little less sweet and cloying than the competition (generally Kirin’s 午後の紅茶 (“Gogo no Kocha”) line of teas). The big draw as far as I see it is that it has quite a few less calories than the competition (although obviously it can’t compared to the 0 calories of “regular” non-sweet teas) so when you want to treat yourself to a sweet tea you can do so without the loads of diet-destroying calories that usually entails.

  2. miz
    September 2, 2009 at 9:11 pm

    It probably has no different taste than any other teas mass produced. It is the commercialization that kinda irks me a little. Since I know that you’re in Japan, do you think there are a lot of sales as far as the commercial goes? Is it setting up a label? Well there is that McDonald ad with that American guy.

    Hmm.. one of my favorite drinks when I was in Japan for that short time was Kirin’s no Gogo’s Special.. which has milk and sugar. I still purchase it whenever I am out.

    Tea is great no matter what flavor in my opinion.

    Thanks for your thoughtful comments for this entry and the one for Asahiya.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

