Home > Books > Eastern Standard Time Flashback

Eastern Standard Time Flashback

Recently I was mentally cataloging of what I have in terms of my books.. most of which are all lost in the small black hole that I call crates and boxes in my mom’s apartment. I recently saw this book at Bookoff and selling for $7.

It would be this book Eastern Standard Time: A Guide to Asian Influence on American Culture From Astro Boy to Zen Buddhism by Jeff Yang et al. What a mouthful, and of course this book is out of print. I guess you can say this is one of my first books on Asian cultures. I recall purchasing this book from Barnes & Noble from Manhattan Mall before they closed, and restructured the mall.

Let’s see back in 1997, I was around 11 or 12 and my identity was shaping somewhat. When I purchased this book. I recalled how I was intrigued I was, and this was a birthday present as well.

I realized that the culture I grew up with, was finally going to be read by English speakers. I could wipe out this book to my friends who didn’t know what I was talking about, and reference it. Of course the book spoke on not just anime, as what the cover was speaking about. For a while I treasured this book.. until my next anime relevant book purchase I made on Helen Mc Carthy’s Hayao Miyazaki: Master of Japanese Animation.

Categories: Books
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

