Home > Photography > NYC’s Lower East Side Eroge Figures on Display

NYC’s Lower East Side Eroge Figures on Display

Before I forget and the news grow old, I figure that I would need to blog about my experiences with what I first heard AnimeVice reporting about. Eroge figures on display. One of the lucky things about New York Cities, is the galleries that dot the city. Free admission to see displayed art. I have been going to galleries for a bit now, from, and this is definitely something that would make an adult figure fan collector say wow…anime figures going fine arts in America. So the gallery is Gallery Nine 5 near Spring Street.

I went on Friday, a couple of weeks before Utada concert, and I never got the chance to go back. The display didn’t take up the entire store, half of it – but with a timed interest. This display was up to February 12 and that’s it. I found figures I might have recognized, and some others are of a submissive/dominant variety which I find myself saying wow..

All the figures depict woman in states of undress or BDSM inspired, or sexual poses. Some figures are from Queen’s Blade, Bakuretsu Hunters, Ah My Goddess, Bible Black, Gundam Seed Destiny.. plenty of these figures were definitely taken in states of undress, with added adult themed contents props, like Playboy mini-books or bar ornaments.

Since it is more polite to ask if there was a photo shoot policy, the guy said only one picture, so of course I grabbed Kero’s and my camera and snapped two pictures of what I found were neat.


These were tweets I made on that day.

animemiz: Went to Gallery Nine 5, saw figures, was able to take two pics. I like my own figures more, but seeing 3xMizuho-sensei and 2xUrd was sweet.

animemiz: Also saw Queens Blade Figures, Bible Black, maybe Bakuretsu Hunter, and maybe Gundam Seed Destiny. Another trip or 2 there is a must!

Because of the fact that Sunday the 14th was the Lunar New Year, and Valentine Day, decided to postpone this until Monday to be uploaded. But yes, this was an experience.

Categories: Photography Tags: ,
  1. February 15, 2010 at 11:35 pm

    So what is the, uh, artistic statement being made by their display?

  2. omo
    February 16, 2010 at 12:32 am

    The panorama is an aspect of figure otaku-dom that is slowly being eaten by the masses of mass-produced PVC owners. This is a bit like the old days, except people did it with gunpla instead.

    Once i heard that there were only 25 figures, it makes the trek a little hard to justify (also the gallery has ended on 2/12)

  3. miz
    February 17, 2010 at 9:11 pm

    @Omo, well the gallery was in Noho, so yeah it is kinda hard to justify going to the gallery for unless if there was nothing much to do. Hmm.. well PVC figures are cheaper. Gunpla.. you mean with guns?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

