Home > Music > Loving certain openings.. dramatic and otherwise..

Loving certain openings.. dramatic and otherwise..

Lately as I have had really nothing much to do. .I have been re-listening to all my music and just thinking about what tastes I have. I have always loved drama music, so you can see me just falling in love with something because of it’s theme song catch… something like Sky High (Japanese Drama with Yumiko Shaku) or Kannagi opening would come to my mind. Lately I have been just combing the web for some old Hong Kong dramas, I have watched as a child just to listen to the theme songs. Deric Wan’s Lucky Star has gotten several anime bloggers asking where is Konata and the others.

A huge preference of my theme songs are wuxia ones, and that can get kinda dramatic there. I use to watch a lot, so following in my mom’s preference. My tastes are in that latter.These following are a sampling of what I would love to listen to over and over.. even though the plot of the drama was dramatic and cliche to the point of there being not really much.

In that aspect of I would always think of the point of how overrated Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon is. (I recall back when it came out in U.S. People around me thought of it as akin to something being the best thing from China since Bruce Lee) and then to the point of how underrated Jet Li’s Hero was. Or even Wong Kar Fei’s Ashes of Time. Fantastic moves, those two.

Opening for The Hitman Chronicles (TVB, 1997)

Unfortunately this video for some reason has no pictures. I guess I had to rely on a tudou.com video if I want to see the clip with images. Then quickly shut the page when the song ends.

Opening for Unnatural Born Killers (TVB, 1996)

Love this song, unfortunate that the singer has passed away several years ago.

Opening for Treasure Raiders (TVB, 2002)

I drooled over this song and what made it sad was how bad the drama was. Just one of the most badly act in my honest opinion. >_<

Opening for Mythical Crane and Magical Needle (ATV, 1992)

I still love this song, and yes the drama was also very good, well not well act by some people, but there were scenes I recall.

Categories: Music
  1. February 27, 2010 at 6:30 pm

    Thanks for posting – these are beautiful songs 🙂

  2. miz
    February 28, 2010 at 2:40 am

    @Kitsune.. Thanks for the comment.. ^_^ Now my question is, even if you didn’t understand any of the music at all.. which clip do you think stood out for in terms of what you can see and hear?

  3. March 6, 2010 at 10:50 pm

    Sorry that it took me a long time to respond to your question – it was a busy week.

    My favorite songs are the last two 🙂 The last video has explosions, flying, and romance, but I question their technique with Jian 😛

  4. miz
    March 7, 2010 at 12:31 am

    @Kitsune.. Jian? Well I made my opinion about Treasure Raiders. The song is great, but the drama really bad. Magical Needle Crane. I am not sure if it would be easier for you to get, but there is a movie version that came out in the 90’s with Anita Mui and Tony Leung which was an interpretation of what this 30+ drama tried to explain in 2 hours.

  5. March 7, 2010 at 2:41 am

    Jian is a double-edged straight sword.

    Oh wow, that movie is really condensed it seems! I wonder if it can do what Do You Remember Love did with Macross – probably not, but I’ll try to check out this movie if I get a chance 🙂

  6. miz
    March 8, 2010 at 4:35 pm

    @Kitsune Oh right Jian.. I think of the pronunciation as Gim, and without the kanji, didn’t realize that you were talking about the sword. Yeah that has to do with the whole special effects, and the One aspect.. which is the strongest and all that. The theme song is fabulous.. here’s a trailer for it.. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8fojCsX2EVA and here’s a MV of the theme song in Mandarin. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JuWjsRVe0vs

    Hmm.. Macross.. another of those series I have to try and finish. >_<

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

