Home > Personal > Setting off for Japan 2010 – and first night in Japan.

Setting off for Japan 2010 – and first night in Japan.

Memories of March 10
I barely slept at home the night before, and was therefore exhausted. Left home at 7-ish in the morning and went to the airport. Found out that the exchange rate was like 78 yen to a dollar if you sell it at Newerk, so didn’t exchange money. Boarded the plane with no issues.. and soon found myself bored. Left my iPod in my checked luggage… so for 14 hours, nothing, but relying on airplane entertainment. Movies on the plane were meh. I saw a lot of the children’s movies all ready, and the recent movies was not in my interest. Saw Ashes of Time Redux as a foreign movie, and fell in love with the movie, all over again. If Moy and his friend were up for it, I would have gone on a slight spiel about it. I love the movie when I watched it several years ago. I have the soundtrack somewhere in my home. >_<

Reached Narita around 3-ish on Thursday. Found the HSBC bank ATM. Then went to get on the train for travel. After traveling on the Keisai Line for two hours, reached the hostel. Yes my room is tiny. Did take pictures, so will have to do a photo dump on Flickr.

Thursday evening.. March 11
After settling into my room, I had to run to Harujuku to meet up with Aya and Rai. From my experiences of last year with a rental, this year I am opting for purchasing a Softbank prepaid phone, which is slightly different than what I remember Danny Choo mentioning about cell phone solutions for travelers. It was about $200 USD. I miss Rai and Aya a lot, well Rai is coming back to the states but Aya.. she is staying in Asia permanently, I don’t expect to see her again for maybe a while after I leave Japan this time. Will try to hang out with her as much as possible.  Picked up a dessert Tea from the vending machine prior to meeting up with them. Got there slightly early, and when we went to the Softbank store, I saw an actual autographed SMAP Softbank poster in the store. Rai sneaked off an image… ^_^

Of course there is issue with the charger, so will have to go back to a Softbank store to see what happened… but if I can manage to tweet, then I will be tweeting my travels. This is not easy, since there Verizon phone is a horizontal flip keyboard, my Softbank phone has a keypad for texting the regular way a phone is. Still practice makes perfect.. so fight-o…

Friday morning
Technically woke up slightly earliest, going to pay of it later, but heading to Yokohama today with Moy and friends. Testing some features of Softbank cell still.. ^_^

Picked up some onigiri from the local 7-11. Going to head out soon.

Categories: Personal Tags: ,
  1. March 11, 2010 at 7:00 pm

    looll 78 is horrible. im glad i went to the bank I got 84 there at least

  2. miz
    March 11, 2010 at 7:27 pm

    Moy and I ended up with getting about 87 yen for a dollar at Narita… ^_^

  3. March 11, 2010 at 10:19 pm

    have a wonderful trip! see you when u get back.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

