Home > manga movable feast > The Colors Trilogy – Some Thoughts and comparisions

The Colors Trilogy – Some Thoughts and comparisions

June’s MMF is on The Colors Trilogy – a Korean Manhwa trilogy by Kim Dong Hwa that has currently been nominated for the Esiner Comic Award for Best U.S. Edition of International Material-Asia, with a list of the other fabulous titles, I wonder which title would win? The Colors has the distinction of being the only Korean Manhwa title in a category that is filled with Japanese Manga. The award is going to be announced next month at the San Diego Comic Con.

Prior to reading this series, I have looked at Manhwa titles with skepticism. So when I received these books to be read, courtesy of @funnypages, it took me some time to get through The Color of Earth, since it was a beginning that I was unused to following, but reading the following books The Color Of Water and The Color of Heaven, I realized that I couldn’t put the books down as easily as I had with the first book. The following two books do remind me of the dramas that my mom has watched, of an agricultural based society that is in a transition period with the rest of the world.

It has been pretty interesting to reading about Ehwa’s development, back when woman were just defined by their marriage, and what exactly is their worth or thoughts in the process. There is parts of feeling as Ehwa has the same fears and worries that every developing girl would have. Historically in order to conceal what is sex, it is often regulated to see what the insects and birds would. Then in describing sex there are flowers and other symbols to be seen. Even when Ehwa had her marriage bed, with the bell.

I found myself thinking about The Joy Luck Club or other dramas I have seen where arrange marriage is conducted, especially with the fate of Chungja. Certainly the actions with Master Cho is not the least bit unfamiliar with me. This is a good series to be read to be exposed to a different world and different time period. I have noticed other reviewers mentioning this as a great mothers/daughters read and am saying that this is a great book to be shared, or with any adolescent female.

At the end of each book there is a book discussion section with some questions and a list of further recommendation, that would make this trilogy a useful book in a book club or academic class.I believe than just seeing the fact that there is a great deal of nature in this story, The Walking Man was recommended.

My review on Jiro Taniguchi’s The Walking Man can be found here.

Other MMF posts would be located here.

Categories: manga movable feast Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. June 27, 2010 at 1:33 pm
  2. June 28, 2010 at 3:29 pm

Leave a Reply

