Home > Books > 3 Things Shoujo…

3 Things Shoujo…

Not sure if it is as relevant for the fact that it is not posted on a Thursday, but on a Friday, but I figure this might be a bit fun, and a bit of a breaker from still updating about NYCC/NYAF on JLHLS and Anime Diet. I am not posting hyperlinks to my press, since eventually the posts I will write for those presses… will come out on Twitter.

Since I have been on a kick with reading a lot of Shoujo flavor manga from the library, my reading choices.. are not as recent or as old as other titles that I have been seeing. I am writing my list in terms of the manga I had finished devouring vs. the manga that I am still continuing to read.. But this idea for writing this type of blog is from Manga Bookshelf – Melinda Beasi’s idea, since I see other manga blogs I read also follow suit.

3 Current Faves


Monkey High
(Shoujo Beat) by Shouko Akira. In a seemingly opposites attract scenario, I am quite curious to see what will happen in this high school romance, between a cool beautiful girl and an unassuming monkey boy.

High School Debut (Shoujo Beat) by Kazune Kawahara. Haruna is a tomboy female who is determined to get a boyfriend upon getting to high school. She meets her ideal in Yoh. So what is this seemingly naive girl going to do against anyone who disapproves of her relationship?

Kimi ni Todoke (Viz) by Karuho Shiina. Sawako is feared by everyone in her class. She is a very shy girl, but eventually becomes attracted to Kazehaya, a very well liked boy in her class. I squee when I read of their relationship, god the blushing both are.. is just sooo innocent, but at times I kinda wonder about similarities with Kareshi Kanojo no Jijo!

3 Past Faves

The Gentleman’s Alliance Cross (Shoujo Beat) by Arina Tanemura. Haine, has to try to win the affection of Shizumasa Togu and move beyond her dark sad past. I really enjoy reading this series, and finding out what was what. The artwork is something I really like, and find very pretty, even though though to keep track of all the characters was at some point, confusing. It is not as bad as flipping thru some other titles I have seen though.


Wild Ones
(Shoujo Beat) by Kiyo Fujiwara. Meet Sachie who is the granddaughter of a Yakuza clan’s head. She gets assigned a caretaker by Rakuto. Of course as with any shoujo title, they fall for each other. I really enjoy the desings of this series.

Solanin (Viz)by Inio Asano is a coming of age story, that is quite bittersweet, and self-realizing. Is this considered to be a shoujo title, not sure, but with the mention of a female that is slice of life, from the nomral shoujo fluff I see. I find that the depth this story creates, leads to a good cry and an experience.

Categories: Books Tags:
  1. October 15, 2010 at 11:29 am

    Ahhhhh Kimi ni Todoke is sooooooooooooooooo freakin’ cute.
    It warms my heart.

  2. lys
    October 15, 2010 at 1:06 pm

    Aww, your three current-picks are such sweet, fun stories 😀 I haven’t read much of your older favourites (though I gave Solanin (which is actually seinen) to my brother for his birthday, and it’s sitting on the bookshelf available to me as I type…) but I was in love with Kamikaze Kaitou Jeanne, an older Tanemura series, back in the day. Thanks for sharing your choices!

  3. miz
    October 15, 2010 at 9:16 pm

    Wow.. thanks for the comments..

    @Kris Agrees 120% for the warm feelings that Kimi ni Todoke invokes!!! It is on a blogging drafts list that I am going to blog soon, I hope on Anime Diet..once I get over my pile of reviews and drafts.

    @lys I love sweet fun stories, that ways it won’t make me cry as much. Hmm, even if Solanin is marketed as a seinen title. I find it a wonderful crossover recommendation with female readers who like their heroine to have flaws, and yet persevere. So far in my real life, I rarely spoke about Solanin, but the book definitely stuck me as a shoujo title, with all the tears, hopes, fixings to appeal to female readers. It did win a well deserved award. OMG!!! I am in the middle of collecting oop’s Kamikaze Kaitou Jeanne.. I love Tanemura works.. and have a few others of her books, still on my bookcase to be read. ^_^

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

