Home > manga movable feast > MMF: Rethinking about a seiyuu event and Aria’s music.

MMF: Rethinking about a seiyuu event and Aria’s music.

Remembering back to NYAF 2009, before it wasn’t merged with NYCC, there was Yui Makino as the featured guest. Other than acting as Sakura’s voice in Tsubasa Chronicles, she is the singer for all three seasons of Aria Japanese anime openings. I wrote a small report of the concert as part of my coverage for that convention. So do imagine my surprise at meeting the singer for Aria‘s openings,  since I recall watching Aria, as a summer project around that time. But yes music is a special part of my fondness for the anime series.

The opening and ending is definitely a small part to the sound of Aria’s animation series, but often a viewer’s first exposure to the series may be the opening of a series. This also can leave clues to the qualities of soundtrack in the series itself. The openings of this certain reflect the calm soothing peaceful atmosphere of the series. The titles for the openings are respectively, “Undine,” “Euforia,” and “Spirale.”

Undine” definitely has the sounds of a European vibe in it. Hearing it, and then reflecting it on the setting of the series makes me feel happy. The setting of Neo Venezia and how closely it reflects a laid back Venice, with with its quaint cafes and famous town square. I can only sigh as I think back. That and I also have to point out one of my favorite scenes. So please excuse me  when I sit and drool at the thought of a good hot drink, with a great book, under the atmosphere of the reading room at the 5th Avenue New York Public Library research library. An impossibility, but no less important as a bibliophile daydream.

Euforia” brings about an impression of tinkling bells, and water dripping somewhere. It is a light song, that has depth in spirit. Water is a deep element in this series, since without water, then there is no need for the extensive travel and networks. Before humans had flight, there were canals, so that can prosper a location. Hearing this song makes me never regret loving anime music the way that I do, of course I am often pretty sad about not knowing more of the language.

Spirale” impresses me with thoughts about the warm summer, as the notes of the song rise and fall. I have a impression of bustling movement. Coincidentally, I was sitting and reading a bulk of the manga while I was with my sister at the museum, a Saturday afternoon if I recall. I has already seen the exhibit that she was viewing, so while she meandered around. I was sitting highly engrossed in reading, with even the movement of people in that same hall. I was really sad when I read up to volume 6, and there were no more English manga to be read. So, if Aria was rescued as a series from ADV, I hope that Tokyopop would hurry and release the rest.

Now these impressions, are personal feelings of how I listen to music, and then relate it. Listening and enjoying music is a different preference for anyone, so if you get the chance seek out the opportunity to listen and enjoy the series.

At this point, I am honestly quite excited for the possibility of introducing this series to anyone, anime or manga. I got into this series via the anime, and at a very late time, so I was very amazed and refreshed at how charmed I have been to the entire anime series. Recently spent some time talking with other people on Twitter about this series, so once again reminded that this is going to be on a sincere wishlist to get of mine. Having to go and listen to these songs again for review, sure is not letting that ache, and sincere wish to watch, and own this series go away.

Categories: manga movable feast Tags:
  1. March 22, 2011 at 2:55 pm

    OK, now talk about the BGM, which is wonderfully soothing and makes great accompaniment to reading the manga. Seriously, whenever I have the urge to read ARIA or AQUA, I’ll pop one of the soundtracks in just to make the reading mood all the more immersive since the BGM does such an excellent job of that.

  2. March 23, 2011 at 12:23 am

    @zzeroparticle Thanks for the comment! Background music, is such a strong aspect of visualizing the anime series. I figure I’ll let other anime/manga bloggers talk/gush about it, since I have some more of the other aspects in this series to want to talk about. ^_^

    You’ve just mentioned an aspect in enjoying how sound goes well with the entire mood of the series.

  3. March 23, 2011 at 1:30 am

    Haha, well, I just asked since I’ve done plenty of gushing on ARIA’s soundtrack when I reviewed it awhile back, so I was curious as to what others had to say about the serenity that ripples forth to add to the experience.

  4. March 23, 2011 at 5:19 am

    @zzeroparticle If I do get the chance to listen to the anime soon, I would probably write about it, not making any promises here. Since I am unsure of when can I even receive my new DVD soon, would you want to submit your blog entry for this feast?

  5. March 23, 2011 at 11:53 pm

    I presume I don’t have to do much commentating or anything of the sort, so yeah, feel free to link to it or whatever :p

  1. March 23, 2011 at 12:08 am

Leave a Reply

