Home > manga movable feast > MMF: Cross Game… not something for everyone..

MMF: Cross Game… not something for everyone..

Baseball is a national sport in Japan, perhaps even more so, since there are several titles in graphic novels, dramas and anime that dealt with this sport. Still it is an American sport to begin with. Since New York has a thing for the Yankees or the Mets, one cannot simply ignore just how much love there is for baseball. Even when I was in Boston, I see how Tom Wayland jokingly dissed out the Boston Red Sox; the reactions of the audience can let anyone who’s not a sports fan definitely see there is pride in loving a sport. Of course, the mascots of AB definitely made sure that Wayland got a Red Sox jersey.

But back to the MMF book in question, this month focuses on Cross Game by Mitsuru Adachi. On occasions in a blue moon, I do check out a couple of sports manga, however I am always seeing the same themes recurring such as the underdog team, the fact to practice harder wins, and there is always a conflict to overcome. For me that gets to be a boring concept to read.

Cross Game was certainly not on my list of manga to wait for, but since this was an MMF title, and I saw volumes 1-2 at the library, there I go. I did happen to tear up with the conclusion of volume 1, but then volume 2 begins, and my annoyance of sports manga in general begins again.

This is a very basic run down of what I happen to read. Ko Kitamura is a boy who grew up with the neighboring Tsukishima sisters. They happen to own the local batting range, while Ko’s dad owns the local sports shop. So everyday Ko happens to go to the batting range to practice. He practices, and somehow the story goes by with hardly anyone realizing his skill. Well there is Aoba, but somehow I find that with the ghost of Wakaba, there really is not going to be a healthy relationship for these two. So Ko joins up with the underdog team, and they go against the favored team.

Playing in the Koshien is a goal for Ko to reach, and from what I know about the Koshien. Is something that is similar to the World Series, or even on the level of Superbowl for Junior Leagues. So whenever I watch Japanese baseball series, there is the goal of Koshien, and it gets to the point where you would always root for the underdogs, and then have a very predictable ending of the team reaching Koshien, or a WHY were they defeated scenario.

I really doubt that I would finish reading Cross Game, but if you happen to like a series about a sport, and character development, then this is a series for you. There are other blog posts more in favor for this series located here. So remember to check it out.

Categories: manga movable feast Tags:
  1. May 28, 2011 at 3:54 am

    Aw that’s unfortunate. I like sports manga in general, it’s always fun to read. However, if you aren’t much in favor of stuff that detail the underdog, you should definitely check out Real by Takehiko Inoue. That might be right up your alley.

  2. May 28, 2011 at 11:02 am

    I second that suggestion — ‘Real’ is absolutely lovely. One of the best works I’ve ever come across in Manga, regardless of genre.

    As for Adachi, I’ve never read CG, but ‘Touch’ is pretty good. (Especially when considering the way other Shonen works normally handle romance in a horrendous manner. Adachi is more interested in understatement than melodrama.)

  3. May 28, 2011 at 4:34 pm

    I watched the anime series and have to agree that the baseball was typical of any type of sports entertainment. I was, at least, happy that the series talked about training hard and not super powers. I would have been very disappointed in seeing Super Sayain Baseball! I also think the relationship between Ko and Aoba was a bit confused. You get to the ending and you still don’t get what their relationship is really all about. All in all, I did find it to be a nice watch, but I wouldn’t recommend it to anybody who’s not interested in baseball, either.

  4. May 29, 2011 at 12:44 am

    Thank you for the comments Justin and heartsea.. ^_^ I have read Real, and have enjoyed it, since it is a very realistic slice of life. This is actually my first Adachi manga, thought I have heard of Touch and H2.

  5. May 29, 2011 at 12:47 am

    The anime would probably not get into as deep as the manga would, and mostly endings would turn out like that, and for lot of other series, where there is no resolution for the romance.. also many sports title I believe prizes on team comradeship. Thank you for the comment.

  1. May 28, 2011 at 10:14 am
  2. May 28, 2011 at 12:51 pm

Leave a Reply

