Home > origami > What are Artist Trading Cards aka ATC’s?

What are Artist Trading Cards aka ATC’s?

Recently on Twitter I have been using some origami acronyms, something I picked up from my intervals of attending the local Origami meet up group. So if you ask me to define what an Artist Trading Cards (ATC’s) is then in the context of origami, I would just say it is trading card size trading card with a small origami affixed to a card. Otherwise an artist trading card is a papercraft card for people to exchange with. The image above is the origami ATC I have completed for OUSA 2011.  I hope to complete another one for Origami Heaven. ^_^

ATC swaps or exchanges have been recently occurring at various origami conventions for a while now, and there are actually origami bloggers that mention about swapping online also. In an origami swap, people are given a theme, and then usually asked to make sets of 25 to change with other people. So far I have participated in one completed European ATC Swap, with another local based Swap occurring this weekend. Most of the time I would upload photos of origami to Facebook, and if I have time mostly likely to Flickr.

In terms of folding, I am possibly a low intermediate to an intermediate folder. Lots of kinks and as my friends always mention, fold, fold, fold some more.. oh just fold.I never imagine that I am an artist, and if I can just “ooh and ahh” over other people’s way more artistic creations then I can. I happen to like folding smaller origami as a way to practice, and also utilize my paper collection a bit longer. Origami folding is a matter of patience, and something eventually will happen.

Categories: origami Tags: ,
  1. June 25, 2011 at 10:16 pm

    My origami making sucks…I have a ways to go!

  2. June 26, 2011 at 1:46 am

    Awwwwwwwww… I am not one to praise my own folding, but the thing I hear a lot of people just talk about is to just fold.. fold fold.. and fold more. ^_^

  1. May 6, 2012 at 1:27 pm

Leave a Reply

