Home > Japanese > Karaoke and Japanese…

Karaoke and Japanese…

Yes! This is an activity that has boomed in Asian culture, spilling its way into American culture. But difference I see with Karaoke and American scenes, is the individual rooms vs the one big room where you are belting out in front of everyone. The American scene is not what I enjoy, since there is no privacy whatsoever, and it always seems to be a liquid courage to bolster your courage for singing in front of large crowds. There is one location I can handle singing in front of strangers.. with my back to everyone else.. while I stare at the television screen.

Of course this is not just a Japanese activity, it is a common activity for anyone, who wants to practice a language be it Spanish, Italian, French, Chinese, even English. It is also a great way to reinforce your language in my case Japanese. Pick a Japanese song that you like, practice it.. And then belt it out with your friends. It is an exercise and yes after the first hour, it shall get you into the groove and people can belt out their hearts desires.

People always tell me how off key I can get, and I have the trigger skip-syndrome, of not being able to finish a Japanese song, and moving on. But can always aspire to finish. I always thought that one of these days if I get the inclination, I should go and rent a room, and just sing… and practice, though it is always easier to just sing along with your mp3 player, but I see it creates an over reliance.

If I get the chance to sing perfectly..straight through…. I would love to sing.

EXILE-I Wish For You, Rising Sun
City Hunter: More More Shiawase, Angel Night
Princess Princess: Diamonds
Misato Watanabe: My Revolution
Miho Nakayama: 世界中の誰よりきっと
Yazima Beauty Salon: SAKURA -haruwoutawanevada- , Idle mitaini utawasete (Challenge for this, is a group song with 3 voices)

Categories: Japanese Tags:
  1. May 15, 2012 at 2:15 pm

    They actually have some Japanese style karaoke places here in Los Angeles. I’ve never done American-style karaoke and I don’t want to ^^,,, It’s much more fun singing the songs only amongst your friends with the lyrics on screen for you. The places that I’ve been to in LA have anime songs too, and I love singing them ^_^

  2. May 16, 2012 at 2:07 pm

    Thanks for the comment. ^_^ I was actually at Max Karaoke when I was in Los Angeles recently, it definitely is a good place, since people there can pick Japanese from a keyboard. I only know of one karaoke place in NYC that can be done like that. This is a common thing in Tokyo. I enjoy singing older type anime songs. I discover the weakness of my Japanese comes out if I don’t practice.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

