Home > manga movable feast > MMF: Oishinbo: The Joy of Rice

MMF: Oishinbo: The Joy of Rice

Oishinbo: The Joy of Rice

Rice is a staple that I don’t see leaving my home anytime in the future. My family has a preference to consume a long grain rice variety fromThailand. My mom has a saying that she won’t be properly full if she can’t have at least one bowl of rice a day. We have it in a lot of styles in Chinese cuisine. Congee, fried, steamed, waiting to be loaded or mixed with side dishes that often seeps its flavors down, enhancing the flavors of the rice below. That is a donburi concept and this is a type of food culture I grew up with, a fusion of Asian and Spanish. It took until time I went to college where I was exposed to the idea that not everyone eats rice all the time

Reading Oishinbo: The Joy of Rice reconfirms what I know, down to that delightful essay stating the differences in eating posture between Japanese, Koreans and Chinese. Some people may notice it, I certainly did, the nationalistic pride thatJapanhas, and its superiority to other cultures, rice certainly is a way they spoke about it. If I were to ask my mom her opinion, she’ll probably talk about the superiority of Chinese culture. Either way, this is an issue, certainly not something that would go away anytime soon.

The Joy of Rice has a selection of stories where I didn’t notice as much of the Ultimate Menu search save for the onigiri story, as I noticed with Shirō Yamaoka getting pretty much beat down by many of his co-workers.

Oishinbo uses a selection style of translating manga, which I have never really noticed before. Viz in my opinion picked the baton that is used as an option to cut down on the many volumes. I do wonder if this method can be used for other long running series like Kochikame.

I appreciate Oishinbo for talking about brown rice, since it is a new type of rice that I am trying out, and cutting down the obvious “bad’ side of eating the Thai rice I have mentioned earlier. I have a chef goal to try and onigiri with organic brown rice, if the curry rice I made with it, wasn’t a winner.

A disappointing aspect of The Joy of Rice was the fact that Oishinbo didn’t mention dango or mochi, which I know is grounded rice flour. I certainly have hopes to read more Oishinbo, otherwise I’ll have to try and learn how to read Japaese, which I am contemplating on and off.

Read more of this month’s MMF over here.

Categories: manga movable feast
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

