Home > manga movable feast > Kinokuniya and Takehiko Inoue…

Kinokuniya and Takehiko Inoue…

Image

Yes, if you happen to be visiting New York City, and as you step off the 2nd floor’s escalator to Kinokuniya’s only East coast location, you would be treated to this impressive wall length painted mural of Takehiko Inoue’s Vagabond. The mangaka happened to visit Kinokuniya  on November 16, 2007 to celebrate and commemorate the opening of this store at the time. While I have never read Vagabond and Slam Dunk, I happen to catch up with Real when possible.

Back to talking about the Japanese bookstore, I find that I am always treated to Inoue’s artwork every time I look through my wallet, and visit NYC’s location. They do happen to use this featured mural on the annual membership of the store’s discount company. Getting this card in San Francisco, I get a kick out of knowing that this is the New York location that I am quite familiar with.

So if you happen to visit Kinokuniya in NYC, take a look at this painting, as well as remember to spot this omake painting of another Vagabond character on the stairs heading back to the 1st floor. Check out the other entries in this week’s MMF.

Categories: manga movable feast
  1. June 30, 2012 at 8:24 pm

    There’s artwork of Otsu at the staircase? I must find it now.

  2. June 30, 2012 at 10:35 pm

    Hey Tony, Thanks for the comment, I didn’t know that you didn’t know…. don’t you go there as much as I do?

  3. June 30, 2012 at 10:47 pm

    I was just there on Thursday. I have to take another look this time around.

  4. Kim
    July 2, 2012 at 9:25 pm

    This definitely makes it a place worth visiting! I remember going there and the mural was beautiful. I’m glad his artwork will forever (hopefully) be on display in NYC Kinokuniya!

  5. July 13, 2015 at 11:38 am

    Visiting Kinokuniya is on my list of things to do when I visit NYC.
    Also, I nominated you for the Sunshine Award on my blog.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

