Home > Event > Utada Live in the Flesh 2010 NY Concert!!! My experience.

Utada Live in the Flesh 2010 NY Concert!!! My experience.

Edited: To include link that inu-liger was great to provide – 2/14/20

Oh my god… I have to say this was an amazing experience. About ten times better than last year’s Sephora event, but oh my god!!!!! I am still getting quite emotional with the experience. That, yes if you ask me how I felt yesterday, I would have probably had a different reaction. Now with the time to sleep, and maybe rest my lost voice, I feel much better to write this con report up.

So this version of Hikki’s sold out concert took place at the Fillmore at Irving Plaza in NY, and this is nothing, but a nightclub spot with no seats, save for on the balcony area.  Very similar to Webster Hall, where I know people went to go see AKB 48 last year. Still Fillmore is also the venue where VAMPS and Dir En Grey played. So there must be a reason other than, that they can sold as much as they can, for the reason why it seems like Japanese singers would be playing here. Polysics would be having their concert here soon as well.

What was my journey like though? I was following concert coverage with @ublog, and on Sunday got these two tweets..

ublog: Some people are borderline crazy RT @autumnmycat: Wtf, people are already lined up for the New York #Utada concert. #ublog

ublog: Hmm false alarm? RT @artitj: I don’t see a line for Utada in NYC yet (10pm). http://yfrog.com/ausw5rj #utada #ublog

Based on last year’s experience, I was already planning to go and do a marathon wait at around 5-am-ish. So after a very sleepless night paired with moments of just grabbing my cat, and nodding off here and there. I left at around 4:30-ish am.. and of course mentally cursing out the MTA, I made it to the  Fillmore at around 5:30-am-ish and I was the 7th person on the line at that time. Heard that people were there from 2-am-ish onward. Even saw some acquaintances from Sephora that early there also.

Temperatures were freezing. It felt so much like my college town’s weather, that even with the layers I was packing, by the time it  was around 10-am-ish I broke down and got some heat pads from the nearby Walgreens. So not fun, that it was. For a large portion of the time I was on the line, I was pretty much just tweeting about the cold and the line..

animemiz: My god this is soooo cold… (toes and fingers growing numb)

ublog: @animemiz Keep warm! There’s still 10 hours to go! #ublog

Ten more hours, you can imagine my dismay, but thankfully the morning zoomed by fast, friends, and the line formed as the day went on. Then came the afternoon and time dragged. Literally dragged. Of course I was the first one there, @ericmchu and @1moy also came at a later/early-ish countdown time to Hikki, there was also the appearance of a lot of other friends, who were great to hang out with. I was also pretty grateful when my sister showed up, and I got an extra glove set from her. Between the shuttling back and forth to the Dunkin Doughnuts, lines or Starbucks, I was at points of losing feeling from my hands and feet. This is not pleasant, as I am thinking from what friends allude to this, as being hardcore and dedicated to the extremes. This is a test of endurance I tell you. Especially on a cold winter day, with the a blizzard coming in a couple of days. Will get frostbite in this type of weather.

So later toward the afternoon, around 4-pm-ish, Fillmore finally started to offer the line a bit of hot drinks. It was also around this time, they started to put up barricades.  Of course there were still about 3 more hours of waiting.. I think it was around this time, that two fans came up to me and were like, “We recognize you.. you were wearing that Blue Hoodie” [from Sephora event] “Singing your praises down the line” “knew that you would be at the front of the line..” I was pretty flattered.. so thanks.. ^_^

Also a few hours earlier, this guy came up and was trying to offer one of us, $20 for a chance to stand near us. That was pretty rude, and he gave pretty lame excuses, so if none of us knew him, then why give him a spot, he would have had to pay each and every one of us a portion. Then before that guy came along, a homeless guy was soliciting the line for quarters.

Finally it was around 7-pm-ish they let us go in, of course security pat people’s bags for no drinks.. and there was a mandatory bag check in, no camera or cell phones video camera recording were allowed. People still got photos or video taped parts of the concert though.

After a long time of waiting, the crowds were let in, and I quickly found my way to the front left. For one hour, DJ Mike Rizzo was playing and trying to work the crowd, but the crowd wasn’t as enthused, probably because of the wait, and or cold or the fact that it was Hikki that a lot of people waited to see. (That was my personal feeling though, because I was feeling very tired.) He did spin several songs I enjoyed Paparazzi, I Gotta Feeling, and for his last song, a remix of Dirty Desire. Then she came..

Hikki wore a black sequin shirt, with an animal print skirt, bracelets on her arm, a black star ring, star earrings, and black boots with silver chains. I was so excited to see her. Here is her set list for New York:

Opening (from Exodus)
On and On
Merry Christmas Mr. Lawrence – FYI
Poppin’
This One (Crying like a Child)
Passion / Sanctuary
Sakura Drops
Stay Gold
Devil Inside
Kremlin Dusk
You Make Me Want to Be a Man
The Bitter End (Placebo cover)
Apple and Cinnamon
Come Back To Me
First Love
Can You Keep A Secret?
Automatic
Dirty Desire

Encore:
Simple and Clean
Me Muero

During songs, she was making comments, and let’s see what I can remember. Here’s a youtube clip:

These comments are very out of order.

  • She mentioned how she liked to walk around different cities to get a perspective on what to say, that since this was NYC, a place she spent her childhood at, that she was happy to be here.
  • She mentioned how much diversity that there was, somewhere I heard “Love from Canada.” She also mentioned that the people who were waiting from 2am “Crazy” and the response was “It was for you!” “Love you Utada”
  • She said NYC beats out Las Vegas in terms of sound, that she should have probably brought a sound tester to see which audience was the loudest.
  • She also asked a fan to stop talking. Of which this was after he said, to the band “You’re amazing” “He’s amazing”
  • She mentioned that high school friends, and a cousin was in the audience.
  • She mentioned that if she forgot the lyrics, that she can look out in the crowd and see the crowd singing the lyrics for a majority of of the songs. I was one of them.. because it’s not like every day you can see one of your favorite singers, and to say that imitation is considered to be a high form of flattery, ahh my ears and voice were definitely feeling it.

At some points or probably from my position, the bass over rode her voice slightly, but I was still very happy. She sang mostly English songs, but I was very happy when she started to sing her Japanese songs, my high points were “Stay Gold,” and “First Love.” Then after her ‘last’ song “Dirty Desire,” the crowds had to work for an encore, with wild cheering, “Encore,” “One more song.” Then she came out and introduced her band, one of the keyboardist was a New Yorker, another keyboardist was from Connecticut. One of the guitarist was from Brazil. Then sang her encores, I was slighly dissappointed that she didn’t sing “Boku wa Kuma” but maybe after the Boston incident?

Afterward she threw out the NY foam baseballs ver. 1 and ver. 2, that I wrote a blog entry based on the Las Vegas set. Based on the number of baseballs, I believe she threw out about 24, so lucky for those who caught it. I believe Omo or Eric or Moy said this to me, that since I was up in the front, I had made a choice of not catching the ball. I do know that a friend of mine nearly caught the ball, but didn’t. Then I think @usagi_hoshino might have caught one. (I met her on the line, and she was behind me at the concert.)

Viewing from comments on the forum, and of course happy that a lot of people were having fun, and definitely enjoying the concert. Also there were video taping, so there is speculation that there might be a DVD that would be sold. I contemplate on it being available in Japanese Region 3, but of course I would purchase it.

I have broke over 1000 words for this report, and it was an actual press con report I would have probably set it into two parts, but since I am so wordy. I am going to leave with a few videos I found of some parts of the concert. What a fantastic experience… and I lost my voice.. still trying to recover it.

Sakura Drops

Can You Keep A Secret?

Automatic

Encore: Simple and Clean
Photobucket

Also… got notification of this link in the comments, so inu-liger was great to get an audio recording of the entire concert.

Categories: Event Tags:
  1. cassie
    February 10, 2010 at 2:51 pm

    Utada was awesome! i wish i went to see her but the tickets sold out so fast. anyways, she is simply amazing. and i think she if she sang colors it wouldve been even more awesome!m =D i hope she makes another english album someday and tours again cause now she knows how many fans she has in america. =)

  2. miz
    February 10, 2010 at 3:42 pm

    @Cassie As fans I believe there is definitely a strong sign to her management on how much potential of a success she will be in the U.S. Thanks for your comments. ^_^

  3. greenmilktea
    February 14, 2010 at 1:16 am

    Loved your review on the concert! Very detailed oriented. Wish I didn’t have to work n went to wait with you for her concert… also wish it wasn’t a standing one.

  4. inu-liger
    February 14, 2010 at 4:48 pm

    For those that want to relive the New York experience:

    http://www.mediafire.com/?sharekey=5970890d5e589876ab1eab3e9fa335ca631622a7f679cbc5

    Enjoy 🙂

  5. miz
    February 14, 2010 at 11:24 pm

    Thanks to greenmilktea.. yes it was a trial to stand.. >_<

    Oh thanks inu-liger.. did you see an rt I made of Sakura drops? http://twitter.com/animemiz/status/9033518529

  6. inu-liger
    February 16, 2010 at 12:31 am

    Yes I did, slightly after the fact! Cheers

  7. miz
    February 17, 2010 at 9:25 pm

    ^_^

  1. January 2, 2011 at 4:20 am
  2. May 6, 2012 at 1:27 pm

Leave a Reply

