Home > Personal > Friday for Yokohama and Shin Yokohama….

Friday for Yokohama and Shin Yokohama….

8:50AM Japan Time 6:50PM New York Time.

Ahh this entry, is turning into a formula similar to how Rai blogs. Japan and New York time on top, definitely would be easy, since the television always says what the Japanese time is and my computer NY time. That said, I turned on the television and see a cute children anime about a penguin. Prior to that I saw the comedian couple from Lovely Complex live action. They were trying to talk about “gettai” which are two things merging together. Lots of “ehhhhhh” “ehhhh.” It is kinda fun staring at children programing, because they actually show hirigana on the bottom of the screen. Very much how Sesame Street definitely teaches children in the U.S. their numbers and letters.

Then I see an advertisement of the Japanese McDonald’s California Burger, had the Hawaiian Burger already, photo should be included later. But would like to try California Burger, yet I see Doraremon toys being included in the happy meal. >_< Meeting up with Rai and Aya later today at Ikebukuro, going to be going there twice, but that will be fun!

Yesterday though, I made it to Yokohama with Moy and Jan. Woke up quite early, and it was a very long day. Since I purchased my prepaid phone, am using my cell phone to tweet a bit, and actually took a picture of Bay Quarter Yokohama, which is a place of restaurants in a mall setting. I waited for Aya for about an hour, and walked back and forth. I even saw a Natural Lawson, which is the organic and supposedly healthier version of Lawson. I thought that I had some issues with my phones, so went to Softbank, where Aya translated and I ended up purchasing an extra converter. I still got an 3000 yen Japanese iTunes music card, and I plan to get more.

Aya and I walked around the area, and I saw a hostess 18+ bar, and snapped some pictures. >_<. Still it is kinda weird to take pictures in Japan, since there is like a “no photo” policy at a lot of places. My Nikon D40 DSLR is considered extreme by Rai. (As I went to fix some images, the door is a couple, that I cannot fix, so can’t share it… T_T) Waiting for Moy and Jan, we walked back to the Quarter Bay and got some delicious Custard Taiyaki.

Went to to Yokohama’s Chinatown. It was nothing but restaurants, and groceries around this area of what was like two long blocks. I also saw a lot of chestnuts being sold. Who knew? I always felt that chestnuts was a winter thing, but apparently the Japanese see it as a Chinese snack. There is a lot of Mandarin speaking people in Japan. But lots of Hong Kong tourists, if I see people speaking Cantonese.

After Chinatown for lunch, we walked over to the Pier to try and see the Pacific Ocean as Aya requested. Everything kinda looked the same, but the area had a pretty neat view reminding me of Midtown Piers where the Intrepid is docked in New York City.

Traveled to Shin Yokohama, where Moy checked into his hotel for his Nana Mizuki concert.

Then we walked to find the Ramen Museum. I liked this place a lot. It was about 300 yen entrance for an adult, but the experience was quaint. Neko Ramen Taisho was featured there, and I ended up with a grab bag at the end.

Took plenty of pictures in the museum, and was amused by the Noodle Ramen croquette seller. Being amused, had a Ramen croquette as well.

A ramen croquette, noodles fried on the outside, and inside the filling was typical ramen ingredients. Moy and Jan went back to the hotel, but Aya and I ate at a Ramen stand, where I had a Konbu Scallion Ramen dish, with a good broth. This definitely is cheaper than Ippudo! A definite contrast to this museum was the scenery was a post war Japan yet when you walked into the bathroom, it was direct opposite to the theme of the museum. Modern Japanese toilets… well I doubt visitors would want to go to a historical style bathroom. ^_^ Yet there’s even a sign that said as you were exiting the museum, that you were going back to the future.

Walking to meet back with Jan, thus leaving Moy. We went to the Yokohama BookOff where I found a dated Vampires Princess Miyu artbook, but decided to pass it up.

Categories: Personal Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

