Home > Anime > Loner or group?

Loner or group?

As a fan of Japanese related cultures products (Anime, Manga, Video Games, Cosplay, Fandoms). There was this small thought in the back of my mind. Are you a loner or a group member? I am not sure how to answer this question, so warning on this being a minor rant.

As a fan of anime – an otaku or hikikomori or fujoshi if you must label.. does your hobby make it more isolated for people to communicate with others? I know that the Round Robin discussed this in a round, but as I read my feed reader, I read this entry and some other entries on the past weekend’s Anime Next con – my question is being an Anime fan an isolating experience for anyone who would care to comment?

Personally I haven’t joined up with any anime club aside from high school. At high school, I met three people, that I still meet on a weekly basics. Every one else in that group dispersed into the winds, with occasional brief periods of reunions.

My undergrad college didn’t have any anime club, so I was mostly by myself when I watched anime, and it perpetuate into a pattern. Then as I moved back to my mother’s house, other than the weekly excursions to meet up with Mina, Aya, Matsuri, and Kero, I am not a part of any group.

I refuse to join up with my graduate college’s anime club, because of the distance away from home and how out of place I feel in that group.

Still I count myself lucky to be a part of a community where there are Japanese bookstores, Mitsuwa and Astor Place nearby. Also am happy for the various cultural events nearby.

So this is a minor rant and exploration.

Categories: Anime
  1. June 25, 2008 at 1:10 am

    I’m with a whole gang lols, and I think I know most of my year level and no one seems to mind that I’m obsessed with anime now and then because I guess I don’t really talk about it. but they all say they love my drawings!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

