Home > Personal > Expert or Fan? Aggressive or Fan?

Expert or Fan? Aggressive or Fan?

writing

As I wake up the the morning after speaking with Morithei, my mind is still besieged with whirling thoughts. One of the things I can see myself as trying not to be an expert so early. My childhood is filled with the images of experts being the statues of the philosopher, or like Confucius…people who reach somewhere after a long journey/years of diligence. That is actually kinda foolish as I think about it now. Experts are either considered knowledgeable about the topics they talk about, after months of reading, researching itย  or not.

Even though I spent that many years watching that anime, I have certain pride in it.. but even then I believe it is nothing to really talk about.ย  The scope of the world around me is limitless yes, but is it fun to be an expert in animes? I find experts to being obnoxious and self-centered. Certainly I don’t think that the experts would imagine themselves to being obnoxious, but it is after a long time of their studies and work. To hear that of other people judging other people, yes it would be an issue that I believe I don’t want to face.

I see the various publications that come with academic and anime. People trying to bring a serious note to this industry, and while I am pretty interested in it. Having purchased this, this and this in the past. I don’t usually practice what I preach. Still to read what I buy and try to walk the walk than talk the talk is a little hard to handle after the real life issues.There’s an issue in my field and others, known as information overload – to literally get overwhelmed with information – I get that a lot, and with all the headaches and migraines I have. I can’t help but try not to waste my time.

Even though it would go against my goal of eventually writing a book. I find that my life is always filled with moments of being certain or uncertain. The safe way is to go with the uncertain aspect. That way it doesn’t appear that you are making a fool of yourself, it also comes with the fear of putting that damn foot in your mouth. I believe that I am quite self-aware, but have always had a hard time comprehending certain things as to other things. I see my friend as starting to become an expert for the fact that she collects every bl-book published out there. She will eventually read the books that she collects, but even now I find her very cool for that aspect. That is an otaku in perspective. I recall reading the Genshiken book, and knowing that an otaku is a collector.. and certainly that. I still see myself riding that wave of trend. Oh there are moments I make purchases… that I would look back and wonder why. But so far it has been only one thing.. those Chopper/DragonBall Keycahins..

I believe I am an fan with a pride toward liking what I like. But aggression is when you have evidence, and a passion to drive you? It is somewhat similar to the concept of extrovert and introvert. Such is a superficial comparison, as there are too many people to get to know to make sure you are one either an introvert or an extrovert. I like to be recognized for what I do, but I don’t like to go out of my way to label myself as such. I Even on my facebook page, I always mention the concept of trying to cope with trials of life.

But as for being an expert, I wonder if at this time being, I am a sponge – trying to gain all the information that is out there, and then spreading it to over people? It is an occupational hazard though, and if the goal of mine is to become an expert, I believe that there are still many years to go. As a enthusiast I am pretty comfortable with that fact. Podcasts are interesting though, and would definitely means that you can make a name in the anibloggingsphere. I am actually pretty happy that I was asked to do one. I don’t want to drag the ship down on that one tho. So if I get the chance though.. it is an opportunity I would like to take. For opportunity is chance.

I can’t believe this is all my musings and thinking about what exactly is public speaking, and I can only remember to back when i was a president of an honor society. I tried to be seen as dependable and encouraging, and so I was always faced with moments of being seen as mouthpiece. But is is something that I am willing to do. I am blaming in the fact that I believe that I am a mixture of girl next door, with feral and whiny quality. Recently I read this post, and was kinda pleased that I got included in the line up, so in essence I will be trying to make myself a bit more in the forefront of things. As things get older, and times will change, one must Carpe Diem or it would be a situation of Que Sera Sera.

Categories: Personal
  1. April 28, 2009 at 6:15 pm

    There’s a difference between academic mastery of a subject, and mastery over oneself. The former is, as you said, a matter of months or years studying it intently; the latter is necessarily broader in scope and may be unattainable even over a lifetime. That said, there are important things to be gained from each.

  2. miz
    April 29, 2009 at 1:54 pm

    Very true, so very true.. (thumbs up) People are always learning and improving tho..

  3. miz
    April 30, 2009 at 10:33 am

    @moritheil I surely know that.. well this is a response after 2 days of thinking and some more thinking.. probably a half-ass answer. This is my perfectionist desire to do everything the best I can..so it does get pretty depressing. I imagine a mixture of Eyore, Rabbit and Tigger fused from Winnie the Pooh is how mostly my mind ticks.

  4. May 29, 2009 at 11:05 pm

    There is a difference between being an expert in something and simply doing or participating in something. Many people practice martial arts their entire life, but how many really become experts? Time spent is a necessary, but not sufficient condition for expertize.

    Unfortunately, trying to bring a serious note to anime may result in walls of text about nothing, as I see on some anime blogs…

    It seems that you want to be an expert in anime since you talk about anibloggingsphere? I wonder what is your definition of an expert in that area?

    P.S. Please provide a link to your podcast ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. miz
    May 30, 2009 at 1:45 am

    Okay one thing first.. the podcast is not up yet..

    Second that my comment is missing a way part of it.. UGH!!!! STUPID WORDPRESS!!!!!!!!!

    Now I will have to retype it out.

    UGH!!!!

    What I was trying to say after a pretty thoughtful reply was that one I don’t see myself as an expert in anything. I have only been blogging sporadically for a couple of years in anime blogging though.

    I want to be able to persevere though. The market, though would treasure experts. So I can’t help, but feel that push, as well as shove to try and achieve that status.

    I usually admire those who persevere and are well known of what they write.

  6. May 30, 2009 at 10:29 am

    Too bad wordpress ate your comment ๐Ÿ˜ฆ It happened to me several times before and was very frustrating. Since then, I type all my emails and comments in Notepad first. Alternatively, I CTRL + C my reply before hitting submit button as an insurance.

    Ok, let me know when your podcast will be up ๐Ÿ™‚

    I want to be able to persevere though. The market, though would treasure experts. So I canโ€™t help, but feel that push, as well as shove to try and achieve that status.

    Now, this paragraph is unclear to me. Based on your reply, it seems you are talking about anime blogging and you want to become an expert in that area. Then you talk about market. Is your objective to monetize your blogging?

    You also mention feeling pushed and even shoved to achieve a status of an expert in anime blogging. Why do you feel that way?

    I usually admire those who persevere and are well known of what they write.

    Yes, some bloggers produce good quality writing, but popularity does not always equate with expertize.

  7. miz
    May 30, 2009 at 11:37 pm

    Ack hence my thoughtful comment went out the window. Will try to take your advice.. ^_^

    Ok, let me know when your podcast will be up ๐Ÿ™‚

    I want to be able to persevere though. The market, though would treasure experts. So I canโ€™t help, but feel that push, as well as shove to try and achieve that status.

    >>Now, this paragraph is unclear to me. Based on your reply, it seems you are talking about anime blogging and you want to become an expert in that area. Then you talk about market. Is your objective to monetize your blogging?

    Actually my goal in blogging is not to earn money. I would like to use blogging, as a tool to improve my writing though, and as a tool to have conversations such as this. Often though my writing does leave something less to desire.

    >>You also mention feeling pushed and even shoved to achieve a status of an expert in anime blogging. Why do you feel that way?

    I was thinking about my goal in the academic career track, how slim the job market is now. One must be able to gain more experience to actually perhaps be considered an expert. Ahh sorry for the miscomprehension. I wrote a little too much with too little comprehension that it might not sound the way I had earlier thought out my response to be.

    >>Yes, some bloggers produce good quality writing, but popularity does not always equate with expertize.

    But it seems like it though?

  8. May 31, 2009 at 12:53 am

    Yes, blogging regularly may improve the writing with some additional training and resources. Discussions is one of my favorite things about blogging ๐Ÿ™‚

    Indeed, academic career is not easy at all. Earning a degree, be it masters or Ph.D., is essential for a good career. Also I noticed that self-learning is especially important – school can only teach you that much. Then, with experience and enough currency (grants and publications), you can advance and secure a tenure. The most important thing is the desire to improve, and you definitely have it ๐Ÿ™‚

    But it seems like it though?

    Are very popular anime really good? ๐Ÿ˜› However, I agree that popular bloggers are experts at attracting a particular audience.

    P.S. blockquote may be helpful in quoting text.

  9. miz
    May 31, 2009 at 1:03 am

    Thanks for the tip..! Don’t I know it, I see my classmates, and I thinking wow. Must persevere.. must persevere. Still thinking about trying to self-learn. >_<

    Oh and FYI.. my pictures are up.. if you want to go see.. ^_^

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

